Devotional: When You Confess…

I’ve read many devotionals, some I could relate to, some I couldn’t, some encouraged me and some led me to encourage others.  But this this  devotional convicted me to the core.  The question was “what makes a heart upright”  and boy did I get an answer.  


The lead scripture was  “Rejoice in the Lord and be glad, you righteous; sing, all you who are upright in heart! (Psalm 32:11 NIV).  But that was not what convicted me, it was theses to verses and her testimony, ” When i kept silent, my bones wasted away though my groaning all day long.  for day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer.  Then I acknowledge my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity.  I said. “I will confess my transgression to the Lord”- and you forgave the guilt of my sin. (Psalm 32:3-5 NIV) 

Her testimony was during a fast for her church God also to her to fast from Dr. Pepper and she elected not to.  Then her  relationship with God suffered she still participated in ministry believing she “got away with it”  but her spirit became restless and she could not sleep at night.  And the scritpure above haunted her.  She then confessed and obyed God and her situation changed.  

Reality:  How many of us are guilty of compromising with God and not obeying him?  We think that because we gave a little its better than nothing.  And when we are not immediately punished we think that we are getting away with it.  

Eventually our relationship with God suffers, and we become weak.  Weak in the spirit and weak in the flesh, we then feel guilty which only pulls us further away from God,
but as verse five says when we confess to God he not only forgives our sins but he  forgives the guilt of our sin.  

Lesson: I am guilty as we all are of not being obedient to God,nothing God does or tells us to do is meant to hurt us and if we love him we will obey him (Jn 14:23)

MA

Let's Talk

