Book Review: My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade

My Stubborn  Heart

Becky Wade

May, 2012

Bethany House Publishing

Contemporary Christian Romance

352 pages

5 Stars

Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Kate Donovan is burned out on work, worn down by her dating relationships, and in need of an adventure. When Kate’s grandmother asks Kate to accompany her to Redbud, Pennsylvania, to restore the grand old house she grew up in, Kate jumps at the chance.

Yet, she discovers a different kind of project upon meeting the man hired to renovate the house.  Matt Jarreau is attractive and clearly wounded — hiding from people, from God, and from his past.  Kate can’t help but set her stubborn heart on bringing him out of the dark and back into the light… whether he likes it or not.

MY TAKE 

First, let me tell you why I give this book 5 stars.  By the end of the book I was crying, with real tears and whining to my roommate about wanting love like that.  This book also made me do something no other romance novel has ever made me do, Pray!  Now I know it may seem like the most “Christian” thing to do but I seriously got on my knees and pray to God about my future husband.  I not only prayed that God would prepare me for him but that God would prepare him for me.  Another reason  I loved this book is because I really had no idea how this story would end, which isn’t normal for romance (although this is a Christian romance novel). So those are my reasons here is my take.

My Stubborn Heart is a story of Kate and Matt. Kate has temporarily moved to this small town to help her grandmother renovate property left in the family and Matt is a ex- hockey star that lost his wife to cancer when she was 27.  Matt is the contractor for the renovation and is quiet, to himself and all about isolation.  But Kate wont accept that, she wants to be his friend and once she learns of his heart wrenching story she is determined to get him out of his shell.  Slowly but surely Matt opens up to Kate only to feel as if he’s betraying his deceased wife and he reverts back to his shell.  Kate is then faced with following her own heart or being obedient to God, which could lead to her losing Matt.

I loved the story and I personally look forward to reading more of Becky Wade’s books.  They are written well and dont give you this overwhelming sense of being a christian book.  I recommend this to those who are hopeless romantics… like ME!

Favorite Quotes/Lesson Learned:

I dont have a favorite quote for this book but I have a lesson learned.

1. Be obedient

2. Trust God

Even when you’re not sure of the outcome. Even when you want to speed up the process. Even when you have a feeling you might not get your way.

God Bless,

M.Anjel

I received this book free from the publisher Bethany House Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Let's Talk

