Book Review: The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren

 The Purpose Driven Life: What  On Earth Am I Here For?

Rick Warren

November 6, 2012

Thomas Nelson; Spiritual Growth & Christian Thought

368 pages

5 Stars

Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION

The Purpose Driven Life will help you understand why you are alive and reveal God’s amazing plan for you–both here and now, and for eternity. Rick Warren will guide you through a personal forty-day spiritual journey that will transform your answer to life’s most important question: What on earth am I here for? Knowing God’s purpose for creating you will reduce your stress, focus your energy, simplify your decisions, give meaning to your life, and most important, prepare you for eternity.

WHAT’S NEW??

10 years ago, Rick Warren wrote The Purpose Driven Life, which became the bestselling hardback non-fiction book in history, and is the second most-translated book in the world, after the Bible. PDL has inspired and changed tens of millions of lives … more than any modern book. NOW, Rick has updated and expanded the book with new chapters on the greatest barriers to living your purpose, plus 42 video introductions to each chapter theme, and 42 additional audio messages that go deeper into each chapter. He has also created a new small group curriculum and new sermon series for pastors, and new follow-up events to conserve the evangelistic and discipleship results you will experience. In the original 40 Days of Purpose campaign, churches averaged 28% growth in attendance, and over 100% growth in small group Bible study! People WANT to know their purpose in life! The Purpose Driven Life will enable a new generation in your church to discover God’s purposes for their lives and empower your church with a fresh new wind of hope, joy, and vitality!

MY TAKE 

Everyone knows about the “Purpose Driven Life“, Its one of the bestselling books of all times, its been translated into 100s of languages, been featured on many talk shows and has probably been one of the books you have studied in your bible studies.  So why am I  reviewing it? Simple, there plenty of other people (like ME) who haven’t read it.

I was given the opportunity to read this and I couldn’t pass it up. Why? I felt like I needed to read it.  So people come out of the womb knowing their purpose and what they want to do with their life, others (like ME) do not.  This has constantly been a struggle with me,  especially as my relationship with God grew.  I felt “God, I love you, so share your plans with me”.  And then ” Really God, everyone else knows, why can’t I?”  Even still I get this feeling like it must be something big because He is really dragging his feet.  But any who in comes PDL. I can’t say that I received this big revelation and now I’m ready to take on the world.  Nor can I say I feel completely lost.

PDL offers its readers a chance to what I believe God wants the most and that is to sit at his feet, love up on him and talk with Him.  It is filled with quotes that will make you want to flood all of your social media, scriptures that you’ve never really taken the time to understand and moments that make you sit and think.  I’m not completely done with the book (over 40 chapters) but from what I read and experienced God is all up in this book.  So if you are like me and you are waiting for the “Big Reveal” keep waiting and seeking the Lord and if you already know, make sure you are doing everything you can to fulfill his purpose for you.

Things I Loved:

  • The are sermons w/notes  that go along with every chapter from Pastor Rick online.
  • At the end of each chapter is: A point to ponder, verse to remember and a question to consider.
  • It is a completely personal and intimate book.
  • Devotional style.  I’m big on devotionals and I love that you can take each chapter and use it as a daily devo.

Favorite Quotes:

“It’s not about you.”

“You wont discover your life’s meaning by looking within yourself.  You didn’t create yourself, so there is no way you can tell yourself what you were for!”

“You are not an accident. ”

“Surely God would not have created such a being as man to exist only for a day! No,no, man was made for immortality.- Abraham Lincoln”

God Bless,

M.Anjel

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One thought on “Book Review: The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Right Where I Belong | Salt of the Earth, Light of the World

Let's Talk

