I <3 Book Review: My One Word

By Mike Ashcraft & Rachel Olsen

By Mike Ashcraft & Rachel Olsen

  My One Word: Change Your Life With Just One Word

Mike Ashcraft & Rachel Olden

December, 2012

Zondervan; Spiritual Growth & Christian Thought

192 pages

5 Stars

Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION

The concept of My One Word is simple. Lose the long list of resolutions—all your sweeping promises to change—and do something about one thing this year instead of nothing about everything. Choose just one word that represents what you most hope God will do in you, and focus on it for an entire year. This single act will force clarity and concentrate your efforts. As you focus on your word over an extended period of time, you position yourself for God to form your character at a deep, sustainable level. Growth and change will result. Author Mike Ashcraft, who has led his megachurch through this My One Word project for more than five years, and Proverbs 31 Ministries author and speaker Rachel Olsen, who has lived it, are encouraging, insightful, good-humored, yet realistic in this enjoyable read. Their stories of growth and change through My One Word will keep you motivated. Throughout the book you’ll also find words and stories of people just like you who have joined the My One Word movement and discovered the power of just one word.

MY TAKE 

It’s a new year, and with a new year comes New Year resolutions and lots of them.  We promise to workout more, go to church more, spend time with others, save more money, go more places, stop drinking, smoking and sleeping around.  And by March all those promises are out sight out of mind.

So when the cover of My One Word (MOW)  said one word could change my life I rolled my eyes.  I almost went into reading this book with a negative outlook, I was prepared to give it 1 star before even reading the book description.  But I’m so glad  I read this book.  My One word isn’t a self-help book or a 5 step program.

The purpose of MOW is to get you away from self-success and making list.  Its designed to get you to Focus on one word for the whole year.  A word allow you to Focus on God as he transforms your life.  The problem with resolutions is we depend on self to get everything done without looking to God to see what he wants for our year.  We might be thinking travel, money and marriage, while God is saying … Abide, Trust, Depend.  And with My One Word you don’t pick the word yourself. I made that mistake,I thought I had the perfect word, yearning.  I wanted to year for God more and fill myself with what he wanted but I was wrong.  Allow God to show you the one word He wants you to focus on. When God gave me my word of OBEDIENCE I cried in my car during my 15 minute work break.  Like most people I prepared a list of things I wanted to accomplish but God said to me if you just OBEY me your year will be filled with everything you couldn’t think to put on your list.  Once you have your word constantly remind yourself.  Mike says in the book ” What gets noticed and measured gets done. And what gets ignored gets, well, ignored”.  So ive found plenty of DIY crafts on Pintrest to help me keep my word in focus, I hope I don’t mess them up lol.

“I’m very excited for this new year God  has given us and i more excited to see all his awesome promises come to fruition.

Great book, great lessons, check it out.

My focus scripture to go with my word:

” Help me understand Your instruction,and I will obey it and follow it with all my heart” Psalms 119:34 HCSB

 

Favorite Quotes:

” We fail to realize that building a life apart from God would mean, well, a life apart from God”

“God doesn’t help those who help themselves.  God helps those who abide with Him, those who walk with him in faith”

“We cant just talk about our one word, why we picked it and what we hope it will do for us; we have to do it, apply it”

“If you can always manage your life yourself and solve all your own problems, you wont feel much need for God. You’ll still have need for God , you just wont feel it”

MycheleAnjelica

I received this book free from the publisher through Shelton Interactive. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Let's Talk

