We All Need A Proverbs 17:17 Friend

A friend loves at all times,… Proverbs 17:17( NIV)

On Sunday I had lunch with one of my good friends Shavon.  Its been a year (give or take a few months) since  she moved, which was the last time saw her.  And man was it intense. We ate good food, we laughed, and shared what was new in our lives and then we cried.  YES we cried in the middle of a restaurant.  Why were we crying? Because God is good, we both had a sucky 2012, I had a bad breakup, bad finances, and a where am I going (nowhere) feeling. She had her own personal issues. There was also issues that we both shared, and what sucked the most is that we were not there to help each other get through it.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)

 

And that scripture is what came to me.  Yes we were living in separate cities going through the same issues ALONE  but it was because God ordained it so.  Were we completely alone?  No, we have plenty of friend and family but there are times (at least for me ) when you feel alone.  I now know, those are the times when God is calling us closer to him.  He wants us to be able to share our joys, pains and sorrows with him just like we would with our friends.  He wants us to depend on Him and trust Him with all our hearts.  Not because we know he knows anyway but because we Love Him.

One of the interesting things we shared with each other was our decision to pick one word to drive our focus for this year.  Her word is Trust and my word is Obedience.  And it wasnt until after our lunch did God share this with me:  He said ” Mychelé if you are going to be obedient this year you have to be able to Trust ME.  And if She is going to Trust me she has to be willing to Obey”.  If you’re sitting there mouth open you look just like I did when I heard it.  Trust and Obey… Obey and Trust.

We ended making promises to be better friends to each other this year.  Why?  Because a friend loves at all times, from separate places, through rough times, boyfriends, husbands, kids, careers, you name it and a friend is there for it.  Afraid you don’t have anyone that fits that description? Dont be the bible says that God calls us friend.  And he’s one of the Best.

So take some time to tell your friend/friends that you love and appreciate them.

MycheleAnjelica

And did I mention Sunday was also her birthday!!! It was my Aunts bday as well.  Happy Birthday Ladies!!!

Me & My Aunt

Me & My Aunt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let's Talk

