I <3 Book Review: Shattered

By Dani Pettrey

By Dani Pettrey

Shattered (Alaskan Courage #2)

Dani Pettrey

January 29,2013

Bethany House

Fiction

368 pages

Stars

Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION

A Thrilling New Romantic Suspense from the Genre’s Newest Star

Piper McKenna couldn’t be more thrilled that her prodigal brother, Reef, has returned to Yancey, Alaska, after five years. But her happiness is short-lived when Reef appears at her house covered in blood. A fellow snowboarder has been killed–but despite the evidence, Reef swears he’s innocent. And Piper believes him.

Deputy Landon Grainger loves the McKennas like family, but he’s also sworn to find the truth. Piper is frustrated with his need for facts over faith, but he knows those closest to you have the power to deceive you the most. With his sheriff pushing for a quick conviction, some unexpected leads complicate the investigation, and pursuing the truth may mean risking Landon’s career.

With Piper waging her own search, the two head deep into Canada’s rugged backcountry–and unexpected complications. Not only does their long friendship seem to be turning into something more, but this dangerous case is becoming deadlier with each step.

MY TAKE 

If you’re looking for a good crime novel with a little bit of romance, mystery and murder then this book is definitely for you.  But it has a different take on it, and I like it.  With all the crime shows on tv it’s so easy to get bored,  it’s always the same, body found, police interview suspects, all the interviewees didn’t do it but… they know who did until we come full circle to the person who we paid the least attention to.  We follow the police everywhere but not in this story.

Reef McKenna is accused of murdering Karli Davis and it doesn’t look good for him.  He’s found with the victim and all the evidence points to him, and his trial date was moved up.  No one in town believes him but his family, in particular his sister Piper.  When Piper sees that her brother wont get a fair trial she takes it upon herself to find the person who did kill Karli.  She’s not alone Deputy Landon Grainger a long time family friend decides to take a leave in order to help solve the case.  They have different angles Piper wants to free her brother and Landon wants to find the truth even if that means Reef really is guilty.  They travel throughout Alaska and Canada to find evidence and track down the truth.  And while they are hunting facts someone is hunting them to make sure they don’t find anything.  Several times throughout the book the Piper and Landon are targeted.  Its not until the very end that you’re sure what the outcome is going to be.

Karli lived a sad and complicated life which made it harder to solve this case and frankly I loved it.  I did mention romance right? Yes, there is romance but it’s not in the focus of the story, so I wont make it a focus of this review.  But I will say that it is one of the most natural feeling couple connections I’ve ever read in a book.  It’s normal for one people to like each other and not know where to go with that emotion.  And in Shattered we see the quick glances, the sweaty palms, and the butterflies (something I can currently relate to).

So if I like the story why am I giving it only three stars?  Well, the book starts off promising but after the frist chapter it takes a while to really get into the paging turning action.  And I appreciate a storyline that includes a character receiving salvation, but the way it happens in the book was almost unconvincing to me.  I didn’t feel life altering or believable, when its one of the most life changing events EVER.  *Please remember this is my opinion*

Other than that it was a good book.  I forgot that it was a part of a series and not a standalone book, so now I want to read the first.  It also made me want to visit Alaska, hmmm…. well not really I don’t enjoy cold weather at all, I’m a Florida girl all the way.   It had to be in the way she described the scenes and all the snow sports that made me have a moment of temporary insanity.  Lol

Highly recommend this book and I hope Dani continues the series and I hope she continues it with Gage and Darcy I like them.

MycheleAnjelica

 

I received this book free from the publisher Bethany House Publishers through NetGalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Let's Talk

