I <3 Book Review: Broken Wings

By Shannon Dittemore

By Shannon Dittemore

 Broken  Wings   (Angel Eyes #2)

Shannon Dittemore

February 19,2013

Thomas Nelson;Young Adult Fiction

320 pages

5 Stars

Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Angels with wings of blade. Demons with renewed sight. And a girl who has never been more broken.

Brielle has begun to see the world as it really is, a place where angels intermingle with humans. But just when she thinks she’s got things under control, the life she’s pieced together begins to crumble.

Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her. Something important.

And her overprotective father has turned downright hostile toward Jake. Brielle fears she’ll have to choose between the man who’s always loved her and the one who’s captured her heart.

Then she unearths the truth about her mother’s death and the nightmare starts. Brielle begins seeing visions of mysterious and horrible things.

What she doesn’t know is that she’s been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who saw through the Terrestrial veil. When he pulls the demon Damien from the fiery chasm and sends him back to Earth with new eyes, the stage is set for the ultimate battle of good versus evil.

Brielle has no choice. She must master the weapons she’s been given. She must fight.

But can she fly with broken wings?

MY TAKE 

I first read this book about two months ago, so why has it taken me this long to write about it?  That’s a blog in itself.  What I can say is God has perfect timing.  I wanted to reread the first book (Angel Eyes) before I started to write this review. And if you haven’t read it yet you are clearly sleep. So I read Angel Eyes again and then I reread Broken Wings. And I must say I was so blown away.

Besides the bible there are few books (one, two) that make me relish in God’s love and His glory.  After reading these books I just wanted to praise and worship my Heavenly Father.  There was even a point where I cried in the shower after just a moment of reflection. I’ve been going through a lot these last few months but I finally felt a release from those burdens, it was awesome. See I told you it was a blog in itself 🙂

So, Broken Wings continues to tell the story of Brielle, aka elle, the girl with the gift of sight and Her boyfriend jake, the boy with the healing hands.

SPOILER ALERT!! If you have not read the first book stop reading this review and go read the books… Then come back . Please 😉
At the end of AE the demon Damien was sent to the pit after being defeated by the angel Cannan, in BE not only is he freed from the pit but the prince of darkness himself has restored his sight. He sends Damien on a mission to capture and Brielle so he can corrupt their spiritual gifts.  Just another reminder that the devil comes to steal,kill and destroy.  Brielle and Jake are adjusting to being boyfriend/girlfriend learning how to live with gifts they were given. And on top of that  Jake is keeping a secret that could change both of their futures.

There is so much in this book, I felt my everday life was getting in the way of my reading. So I will “explain” in hashtags.

#angels #demons #war #emptygraves #hell #fires #missingring #disappeared

As usual you get no spoilers from me, but I can say I loved the book!!!

Favorite Quotes:

“Nothing draws attention like shards of light piercing the darkness.”

“Creation, it says, without belief in the creator,will never be anything more than a pretty picture.”

“How glorious is must be to have ones days numbered by the Father.  How precious it makes each and everyone.”

God Bless,

M.Anjel

I received this book free from the publisher Thomas Nelson Publishing through Booksneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Let's Talk

